So where if anywhere should I move?

will not stress about this.

 I am a planner, although it appears sometimes that I do things spontaneously, off the top of my head, it just isn’t so. Acting without thinking or not in control is rare for me. (saying things without thinking, now that’s another story) Give me enough time to think it through and I can absorb anything, handle any crisis plan for any change. So that’s why I’m glad that I got almost two months notice that my job will be ending at the end of this year. I knew when I took this job it was a stopping off point, I wouldn’t be retiring from here. I did think it would be longer than nine months. Its a great job, mostly stress free, but a little to calm for me.

 Well part of the results of the recent elections is that my boss has decided to severely limit the number of communities he works with. He’s closing the office and working from home. I knew when I took the job it was only for a year or two so I’m not really surprised. 

So I’m job hunting. It’s a bit scary, but a good scary, the thrill of knowing my life could completely change, or just move closer in. I thought by the time this time came I’d have enough information about another matter to make a decision to move or not,  but I don’t. (ok I do and I don’t think its a good idea to move there) Also, unemployment insurance is a good thing, as is savings, albeit  a tiny one.

 I have already turned down one job, it was in the wrong area of the state, and they weren’t willing to come close to my salary now. There is another job in another part of the state that I could probably have, I’m just not sure. Half of me wants to travel, to move, the other half wants to stay right here in the town I’ve grown to love with the life I’ve built. Options, choices, get me every time.

 I always play the worst case scenario game, deal with that and then the rest isn’t so bad. Selling my house and traveling Europe for six months sounds good, as does a job on an unnamed Caribbean Island. I’ve always wanted to live in Alaska. China or Germany for a year or two is nice as well. Or, maybe just apply to like 10 jobs in 10 different parts of the United States and see what happens. It’s the “God or the Devil” approach to planning :P. Throw it all out there and whoever gets there first wins.

 
Here is a list of places I’m considering. If you’ed like to come visit one of them let me know. Or if you can think of some place great not on the list, let me know that. At this point, I really don’t care where I live and what I do when I get there. That was what the whole cheese bird and nest post was about.

Alaska

Cabo san Lucas

Memphis

Europe (Germany to be precise)

Louisiana

Helena Arkansas

Gulf Coast?

China

 There are actually job leads here I’m qualified for.

And I’m drawing a blank, Too hot, too cold, don’t want to move cause it would involve cleaning out the garage and I finally feel settled. (hate THAT word) so if you would rather e-mail me its she2ila at aristotle dot net. Tell me where I should live and why.

4 responses to “So where if anywhere should I move?

  1. You know Louisiana is nice.
    You have a hard decision in front of you…I wish you great amounts of luck. Also bug hugs to you.

  2. Yes, and I have family there so it always feels like home.

  3. HELENA?

    I can’t blame you for this. I did this in 1995, throwing out all those resumes and tapes over five states. And ended up in… Jonesboro. Which sounded bad at one point but probably changed my life forever.

    Dream big.

  4. I will weep for days if you move to Europe. Some of it will be cry for happy. What about the Appalachian Trail? Or Montana, big sky, real cowboys, snow snow snow. As much as I joke about my time in California, it was very cool to be able to hike in the snow all morning and then hang out at the beach in the afternoon. And Florida was some of the best times of my life. Move to the Keys and I won’t cry at all. Miss you like hell, but no cry.

Leave a comment